Sunday 24th November at 7.30pm

Cheltenham Town Hall, Imperial Square, Cheltenham, GL50 1QA



English String Orchestra
Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Kenneth Woods conductor



Mozart Eine kleine Nachtmusik
Gál Concertino for Violin and Strings
Elgar Introduction and Allegro for Strings
Tchaikovsky (arr. Woods) String Quartet No. 3 in E-flat minor

ESO returns to Cheltenham with two of the most popular works in the repertoire and a soloist who is among the most exciting young instrumentalists in the UK today.

Tamsin Waley-Cohen brings the rarely- performed Concertino by Gál, a composer who combines a Straussian opening movement with a pure, late-romantic slow movement and bumptious finale, to create a piece which is fast gaining in popularity. Alongside Mozart’s much-loved Eine Kleine Nachtmusik and Elgar’s noble and expansive Introduction & Allegro, this concertino forms the perfect centrepiece to an evening of outstanding and varied music for strings.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Presented by Kenneth Woods & Tamsin Waley-Cohen.


Tickets available from Cheltenham Town Hall Box Office

Full £13.50 – £33.50
Student £11.00 – £26.00
Under 25s £10.00

Please subscribe to our Newsletter!

Want to receive all the latest news, infomation and special offers from the orchestra? Then please join our mailing list today!

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This