Sunday 3rd March 2019, 3.30pm

Hereford Shirehall, St Peters Square, Hereford, HR1 2HX

English String Orchestra
Kenneth Woods- Artistic Director
Noriko Ogawa – Piano


Martinů – Partita for Strings (1931)
Mozart – Piano Concerto in C major K 415 (version for strings by Mozart)
Kaprálová – Partita for Piano and Strings
Noriko Ogawa – Piano
Tchaikovsky arr. Woods – Symphony for Strings (String Quartet no. 3 in E- flat minor) WORLD PREMIERE

There is a love story at the heart of this this programme. Kaprálová was one of the most prodigiously gifted composers and conductors of her generation. Martinů, her teacher and mentor, was the leading Czech composer of his time. In the turbulent years running up to the outbreak of World War II, they fell in love, an affair marked by adversity, exile, and, tragically, her death at the age of just 25.

Her Partita for Piano and Strings is a masterpiece. So too, his earlier Partita from 1931. Noriko Ogawa, one of the leading pianists of our time, is the soloist in both the Kaprálová and Mozart’s own string orchestra version of his effervescent Piano Concerto in C Major K415. The concert concludes with the world-premiere of Kenneth Woods new orchestration of Tchaikovsky’s passionate and dramatic String Quartet in E-flat minor.

TICKETS: £5-22 (Discount for ESO Friends) Family tickets available

Book online via Worcester Live
Phone Booking  01905 611427
In person at the Huntingdon Hall Box office CrownGate Worcester, WR1 2ES

Programme may be subject to change

Please subscribe to our Newsletter!

Want to receive all the latest news, infomation and special offers from the orchestra? Then please join our mailing list today!

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This