Thursday 21st June 2018   7.30pm  (pre-concert talk 6.30pm)

Cheltenham Town Hall, Imperial Square, Cheltenham GL50 1QA

Kenneth Woods- Conductor
Maja Bogdanovic- cello

Weber Oberon Overture
Saint-Saens Cello Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Pezzo capriccioso
Maja Bogdanovic- cello
Schumann Symphony no.1 “Spring”

A springtime celebration of the best of musical Romanticism. French-Serbian cello virtuoso Maja Bogdanovic is winning worldwide plaudits as one of today’s most exciting and compelling young stars, and she makes her debut with Saint-Saens’ evergreen Cello Concerto in A minor and a performance of Tchaikovsky’s stunningly virtuosic Pezzo Capriccioso- a work few cellists dare to attempt.

The concert opens with Weber’s Oberon Overture, an effervescent evocation of the world of Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream. Our season concludes with a performance of Schumann’s uniquely life-affirming Spring Symphony conducted by one of today’s leading Schumann interpreters, Kenneth Woods.

Tickets £13.50 – £33.50 (booking charges may apply)

“Hats off to the indefatigable Kenneth Woods…bringing to Schumann’s comparably sparkling and life-enhancing ‘Spring’ Symphony such boundless vitality, scrupulous fidelity to the printed score, delicious wit and (above all) entrancing freshness of new discovery.” Andrew Achenbach, Classical Ear

Please subscribe to our Newsletter!

Want to receive all the latest news, infomation and special offers from the orchestra? Then please join our mailing list today!

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This